Confucianism in Ancient China

Ms. Jamie’s sixth grade class recently learned about Confucianism in Ancient China.  During the Warring States period, there were three major philosophies that emerged: Confucianism, Legalism, and Daoism.  In order to experience life under Confucianism, there were four students chosen to be the “Elder” or respected “models of virtue”.  These elders were asked to sit in a seat while the followers sat on the floor.  The Elders carefully taught their followers to stand, bow, and say the following greeting in unison: “We are honored to learn from such a wise and noble teacher.”  After demonstrating that they could complete such a task, the Elders then chose students to read Section 3 aloud, until the entire section was read.

There is no better way to learn a concept than practicing it first hand!

Way to go sixth graders!


1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All